Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar – Building your AM Competencies

February 11 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST

Free

Building your Asset Management Competencies

An introduction to CNAM’s Asset Management Competency Framework (AMCF) and what it means for your organization.

Date:

February 11, 2020, 10 am PT / 11:00am MT / 12:00pm CT / 1:00pm ET / 2:00pm AT

Overview:

We know that infrastructure asset management (AM) can help public sector organizations navigate many of the current challenges facing Canadian communities, including an aging asset base, financial deficits, climate change, demographic changes, a constrained public funding model, expectations for higher levels of service, rapid and unpredictable technological change, and loss of organizational knowledge as experienced employees retire.

When AM best practices are implemented, they can help decision-makers fully understand the scope of these issues, find and communicate the optimum balance of service, risk and cost for their infrastructure, and plan a financially, environmentally and socially sustainable way forward. But, to implement more complete AM practices and move towards sustainability organizations need help building workforce capacity and capabilities.

CNAM brought together a broad coalition of national associations involved in supporting AM, community planning and management, and AM-related industry professions in Canada to use their collective expertise to develop a tool to build AM capacity and capabilities in the Canadian public sector. The Asset Management Competency Framework for Canadian Communities (AMCF) was the result.

The AMCF establishes a shared understanding of the competencies (the knowledge, skills, and behaviours) that a community’s workforce should possess to best deliver their AM programs. It provides alignment across the industry on the scope of AM and highlights the connections with the various professions in an organization that overlap with the interdisciplinary practice of AM. It also provides communities with a foundation to identify AM capability gaps and a planning structure to address those gaps with targeted development opportunities and better information to facilitate hiring qualified candidates.

Learning Objectives:

  • Learn about the 12 asset management competencies for Canadian communities.
  • Learn how the AMCF can benefit your organization.
  • Learn how the AMCF has already helped municipalities across the country improve their AM capacity and capabilities.
  • Learn how the AMCF was developed and how CNAM and the national partners will expand upon it in 2020 and beyond!

This initiative is offered through the Municipal Asset Management Program (MAMP), which is delivered by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) and funded by the Government of Canada.

Speakers

Iain Cranston, AMCF Program Manager, CNAM

Ian Gerritsen, AMCF Assistant Program Manager, CNAM

James Jorgensen, Chapter Director, The Institute of Asset Management Canada (AMCF National Partner Steering Committee Member)

Shayne Kavanagh, Senior Manager, Research, Government Finance Officers Association (AMCF National Partner Steering Committee Member)

Valerie Williams, Board Chair, CNAM (AMCF National Partner Steering Committee Member)

Cost

FREE

 

 

Details

Date:
February 11
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Zoom Webinar

Organizer

CNAM
Phone:
416-335-0171
Email:
admin@cnam.ca
Website:
www.cnam.ca
 

Website designed by Build Studio